A New Challenge

I’ll have more to say in some upcoming blogs about the INCREDIBLE food I ate while on an amazing journey down south for a couple weeks. Biscuits, hot chicken, and sweet tea.. oh my! SO DELICIOUS… and so unhealthy when eaten for every single meal for 10 days straight.

As much as I love fried chicken, my body would seriously like me to take a break. Therefore, I decided to give myself a new challenge: The Whole30. For those of you who may not know what The Whole30 is, I’m basically cutting out all dairy, grains, alcohol, legumes, and unnatural sugars out of my diet for 30 days. For months, I’ve been telling myself that I need to eat healthier and get it together, but nothing would stick. After this vacation, I knew it was time for a change.

I’m currently on Day 4 of The Whole30. It definitely hasn’t been easy, but I have to say that it also has not been THAT hard. I’m having a lot of fun. Since graduating college, I’ve gotten out of the practice of making meals for myself every night and this is forcing me to get back into that habit. I’m remembering how much I genuinely like to cook and how exciting finding and correctly executing a new recipe can be. I know this is just the beginning and I will absolutely want some chocolate by day 20, but I’m excited for this month long journey.

I will be chronicling this journey here and on my instagram: @barefootkimtessa. So for those of you that read this, and even if nobody does – You will be holding me accountable! I’ve written it down. I can’t give up. I’m not a quitter. I can do anything for 30 days.

“Commit to being in charge of your process instead of letting the process run you over” – Melissa Hartwig

Leave a comment